Winter Olympics in WORLDWIDE Listings

2018 Winter Olympics Games


February 9 – 25, 2018

Fifteen winter sport disciplines, organized as three Olympic sports, are scheduled in the 2018 Winter Olympics program. The five ice sports are curling, figure skating, ice hockey, speed skating, and short track speed skating. The seven snow sports are alpine skiing, biathlon, cross-country skiing, freestyle skiing, nordic combined, ski jumping, and snowboarding. The three sliding sports are bobsleigh, luge, and skeleton.

In June 2015, six new events were approved for inclusion in the games and will feature in the Olympic program for the first time in 2018. These four are snowboarding big air (men and women), curling mixed doubles, speed skating mass start (men and women), and alpine skiing team event. Two events, parallel slalom in snowboarding (men and women), were dropped to make room for big air.

Winter Games Venues

Beautiful PyeongChang, South Korea rests in the Taebaek Mountains in the eastern part of the country. Just over an hour from Seoul via high-speed train, PyeongChang is known for its natural beauty and is a popular destination for hikers, skiers, snowboarders, and other winter sports enthusiasts. These games will see 15 sport disciplines taking place in a total of 13 event venues, which are divided into two clusters:

PyeongChang Alpensia Cluster

The PyeongChang Alpensia Cluster will be home to the Olympic Stadium, most of the snow sports, and some stunning mountain views at the 2018 Winter Games.

Gangneung Coastal Cluster

With a stunning location between the East Sea and the Taebaek Mountains, the Gangneung Coastal Cluster will host the ice sports at the 2018 Winter Games.